Oculus PAX AR


BUCK’s creative tech wizards strike again with this ground-breaking, cross-promotional experience for the Penny Arcade Expo. BUCK collaborated with Oculus to design enamel pins and an AR gaming experience for PAX. And not just any AR gaming experience but a game with multiple-coordinated targets, a first in Spark AR. The three collectible pins launch three interactive filters available on Instagram.

ar pins - oculus ↗

Above: The final level states for Asgard’s Wrath, Lone Echo, and Stormland, all titles available on the Oculus gaming platform.

The pin designs feature the key characters emerging from an oval reminiscent of the Oculus stadium logo. Our pin designer worked closely with our creative tech team to ensure the artwork works as a reliable tracking target. The collectable pins were produced by Pinny Arcade and distributed at Oculus booths during PAX West 2019.

Once immersed in the game, a call-to-action text prompts the user to scan the appropriate pin (starting and ending with the hero pin of each filter). The target pin emits particles and becomes desaturated — signaling that the pin has given some of its own power in order for the hero character to level up.

Scanning other Oculus pins levels up your hero character by gifting them AR gear, weapons, and perks. This interaction encourages users to complete all the demos and interact and share with fellow PAX attendees. Each filter is a triple target AR filter recognizing not just the hero pin but the other two, a first for a Spark filter on Instagram.



Executive Creative Director

Ryan Honey

Group Creative Director

Kevin Walker

Executive Producer

Emily Rickard

Creative Director

Jeni Wamberg

Associate Creative Director

Diffan Norman


David Guti Rosado

Jamey Kitchens

CG Supervisor

Alex Dingfelder

Animation Director

Alessandro Ceglia

Director of Creative Technology

Michael Delaney


Dae-Han Yi

Eve Hodgkinson

Felipe Contreras

Jeni Wamberg

Lauren Gaballo

Megan Pelto

Nick Iluzada

Shannon Rollins


Alfonso Petersen

Brandon Perlow

Elias Glasch


Ernesto Ruiz Velasco

Juan Carlos Barraza Mendoza

3D Animation

Elizabeth Golan

James Lane

Peter DeSalvo

Creative Technologist

Adam Ferriss

David Glicksman

Donovan Keith

Kirin Robinson

Manny Berk